Share or embed

Community of Christ, the

Previously known as the Reorganized Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. The current name was adopted in 2001. Although holding some of the same beliefs (including use of the Book of Mormon as scripture) as the much larger Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, the Community of Christ also differs markedly. For example, it does not baptize ancestors by proxy, it has always rejected polygamy, and it has ordained women since 1984. Do not refer to it as a Mormon church.

This entry was filed in Christianity, Mormonism. Bookmark the permalink.

Feel free to email us with questions and comments. Feeling lucky? Go to a random entry.